Receive Garth’s newsletter

« Back

Love Song for the Earth


SKU: 0003 Category:


Track list:


  1. Harmonica Talk
  2. The Dust of Death
  3. The Reason and the Rhyme
  4. Live for Now
  5. Paint My Picture (Warts and All)
  6. Love Song for the Earth
  7. Travellin’ (Back Home to You)
  8. A Friend of the King
  9. Wooden Cross Rider
  10. Holy Ground
  11. Get Up and Dance
  12. I’ve Made Up My Mind


This album is now available to buy as CD or MP3 download from GingerDog Records here


Review by ‘The Ancient Star Song’:


Third lp from UK harmonica-toting patched bluejeans cowboy boots muscle shirt Greenbelt troubadour; and the first to be co—released in the States (he’s smiling on the US cover, frowning on the UK cover). This is probably Garth’s most natural down-to-earth recording, beginning and ending with stripped-down bluesy numbers (Jerry Jeff Walker’s ‘Harmonica Talk’ and ‘I’ve Made Up My Mind’) that feature nuthin’ but Garth, mouth harp, and toe-tap. In between you’ll find ten original compositions in an unsweetened folk-rock-country format, with Bryn Haworth’s rousing presence on acoustic, electric slide, mandolin, dobro, l2-string and something called a “harpolek”. Also a bit of banjo and fiddle, but no keyboards, strings or horns in sight. ‘The Dust Of Death’, ‘The Reason And The Rhyme’, ‘Paint My Picture (Warts And All)’, ‘Wooden Cross Rider’ and ‘Get Up And Dance’ all have rustic influences that ensure there will be no over-polished-British-male-solo syndrome on this album. (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).

« Back